Meteor Music Award Winners 2009

And the Winner is…

elbowNineteen awards were handed out last night at the 2009 Meteor Music Awards, eight of which were chosen by the public. Performances on the night included genius British rock band Elbow, the Stereophonics, James Morrison, Enrique Igelsias (again… for some reason), Gabriella Cilmi, Imelda May, Duke Special, Boyzone and The Blizzards.

It’s great to see The Blizzards winning the Live category again, only to prove exactly why they did with an inspiring performance to remember. Elbow (pictured) won Best International band in quite a competitive category – up against AC/DC and Kings of Leon, they definitely deserved it. Their new album Seldom Seen Kid is filed among my favourite albums of all time.

Nominated along side Westlife in Best Pop category were Boyzone, The Coronas, The Script and The Blizzards. Mind blowing! Might it be a good idea to create a new category to divide the likes of Westlife and Boyzone from real bands? And I do mean that with the utmost respect, Boyzone saw that the bandwagon had room for 5 more so up they got.

The Meteors will be broadcast RTÉ Two at 9pm tonight, Wednesday 18th March.

Read on to get a full list of winners. (photos coming tomorrow)

And the Winner is….

Best Radio DJ – National
Ray Foley – Today FM

Best Radio DJ – Regional
Dermot, Dave and Siobhan – Dublin’s 98

Best Irish Band
The Script

Best Irish Pop Act

Best Irish Album
The Script – The Script

Best Irish Female
Imelda May

Best Irish Male
Mick Flannery

Best Irish Live Performance
The Blizzards – Oxegen

Best Trad / Folk
Damien Dempsey

Best International Live Performance
Leonard Cohen – IMMA

Best International Band

Best International Female

Best International Male
James Morrison

RTÉ 2fm Hope for 2009
Wallis Bird

Most Downloaded Song
Galway Girl by Sharon Shannon

Lifetime Achievement Award
Sharon Shannon

Industry Award
Niall Stokes – Founder of Hotpress

Humanitarian Award
Fr. Shay Cullen, Preda Foundation

Post Your Thoughts